Public Events Calendar

Program Date/Time Location
Public Observing Session Tuesday, August 19
9:30 - 11:00 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, September 2
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Friday, September 5
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Friday, September 5
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, September 9
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, September 13
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, September 16
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Wednesday, September 17
Noon - 6:00 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, September 23
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, September 27
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
Astronomy at the Beach Friday, September 26 and
Saturday, September 27
6:00 pm - Midnight
Kensington Metro Park
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, September 30
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Friday, October 3
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Friday, October 3
8:30 - 10:00 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, October 7
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, October 11
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, October 14
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, October 21
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Tuesday, October 21
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, October 25
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, October 28
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, November 4
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Friday, November 7
5:30 - 6:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Friday, November 7
7:00 - 8:30 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, November 8
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, November 11
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, November 18
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Tuesday, November 18
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, November 22
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, November 25
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, December 2
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Friday, December 5
5:30 - 6:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Friday, December 5
6:30 - 8:00 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Saturday, December 6
3:00 - 4:00 pm
Planetarium
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, December 9
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium
Public Observing Session Tuesday, December 9
9:00 - 10:30 pm
Observatory
The Road Not Taken -
A Fall Sky Presentation
Tuesday, December 13
7:30 - 8:30 pm
Planetarium

All events are free and open to the public.

Planetarium
•Doors to the Planetarium open fifteen minutes before the start of the program and close promptly for the show. For safety reasons, there can be no late admittance to the show. Seating is limited to the first 39 visitors. No reservations needed. Please allow time for parking.
• The Planetarium is located on the main campus of Henry Ford Communtiy College in the Science Building room S-126. For driving directions and a campus map please visit the HFCC website.
• For further information about the planetarium, contact Professor Steve Murrell.

Observatory
• Observing sessions require suitable sky conditions. To learn the status of any event, check the Observatory's home page beginning one hour before the event. . Inclement weather or other unforeseen adverse circumstances may cause the cancellation of a scheduled event.
• Observing sessions are primarily held outdoors. Please dress appropriately for personal comfort during your visit.
• Several University telescopes will be available, but personal telescopes are permitted if desired.
• The Observatory is located on the main campus of the University of Michigan-Dearborn, in the Science Learning and Research Center (SLRC), on the third floor.
• For further information about the observatory, e-mail us at umd-sky.observers@umich.edu. Additional information is also available by calling the Department of Natural Sciences at 313-593-5277 (during normal business hours).
• Those attending a Public Observing Session to fulfill a class requirement or for extra credit should arrive 30 minutes prior to the listed start time in order to receive uninterrupted instruction from the Observatory staff. You are also welcome to stay during the observing session; however, staff resources are limited during the public session.

Presented by
The Henry Ford Community College Department of Physics and Earth Sciences
The University of Michigan-Dearborn Department of Natural Sciences
The Ford Amateur Astronomy Club

Don Bord assists elementary and middle-school student visitors with solar observing.